The Nordic Africa Institute

Library

We are a large special library focused on contemporary Africa, mainly within social sciences.

The library is closed July 19 and July 26–30.
All other summer weeks our services continue as below:

No walk-in use. Our collections are available by pick-up ordering: you order by e-mail and make an appointment for a quick pick-up of the wanted title(s).

It is currently not possible to book a visit to browse the shelves etc.

You may book a librarian for guidance via Zoom.

Email: library@nai.uu.se

Pick-up time for orders: Monday-Thursday 13.00–15.00.

Phone (staffed during agreed pick-up time): 018-471 52 70
We may answer the phone outside pick-up time when possible. Due to our irregular presence at the office however, the main contact outside individual pick-up time is through our e-mail above. Please see our Contact us page, for staff contact details.

The above is valid until further notice.
Updated 2020-06-02.

Opening hours:

Today: Open 13-15 for pre-booked pick-up only
  • Tuesday 2021-08-03 Open 13-15 for pre-booked pick-up only
  • Wednesday 2021-08-04 Open 13-15 for pre-booked pick-up only
  • Thursday 2021-08-05 Open 13-15 for pre-booked pick-up only
  • Friday 2021-08-06 Closed
  • Saturday 2021-08-07 Closed
  • Sunday 2021-08-08 Closed
  • Monday 2021-08-09 Open 13-15 for pre-booked pick-up only
  • Tuesday 2021-08-10 Open 13-15 for pre-booked pick-up only
  • Wednesday 2021-08-11 Open 13-15 for pre-booked pick-up only
  • Thursday 2021-08-12 Open 13-15 for pre-booked pick-up only
  • Friday 2021-08-13 Closed
  • Saturday 2021-08-14 Closed
  • Sunday 2021-08-15 Closed
  • Monday 2021-08-16 Open 13-15 for pre-booked pick-up only

Contact

E-mail: library@nai.uu.se
Telephone: +46 18 471 52 70

Library events

  • Resources

    We provide access to many resources, both printed and digital, supporting research and studies on Africa.

  • Use the library

    Information on loans, access and services for visitors as well as distance users.

  • About

    Opening hours, contact info, rules, price list, projects, and more about our collections.