The Nordic Africa Institute

Library

We are a large special library focused on contemporary Africa, mainly within social sciences.

2020-10-20

The library is restricting its services due to the local Corona-restrictions in Uppsala, valid until November 3rd. Please check in again for updates.

Reading rooms are closed for use but our collection is still open for use by pick-up ordering.

  • Email to order books: library@nai.uu.se
  • Pick-up time for orders: 13.00–15.00 Monday-Thursday.

Search for titles in AfricaLit Plusexternal link, opens in new window and/or email us your request. Our information service and our electronic collection is accessible as usual via AfricaLit Plus or via other resources on our website.

Books can be returned via our book drop, around the corner from the main entrance.

Opening hours:

Today: Pickups by appointment only
  • Wednesday 2020-10-21 Pickups by appointment only
  • Thursday 2020-10-22 Pickups by appointment only
  • Friday 2020-10-23 Closed
  • Saturday 2020-10-24 Closed
  • Sunday 2020-10-25 Closed
  • Monday 2020-10-26 Pickups by appointment only
  • Tuesday 2020-10-27 Pickups by appointment only
  • Wednesday 2020-10-28 Pickups by appointment only
  • Thursday 2020-10-29 Pickups by appointment only
  • Friday 2020-10-30 Closed
  • Saturday 2020-10-31 Closed
  • Sunday 2020-11-01 Closed
  • Monday 2020-11-02 Pickups by appointment only
  • Tuesday 2020-11-03 Pickups by appointment only

Contact

E-mail: library@nai.uu.se
Telephone: +46 18 471 52 70

Library events

  • Resources

    We provide access to many resources, both printed and digital, supporting research and studies on Africa.

  • Use the library

    Information on loans, access and services for visitors as well as distance users.

  • About

    Opening hours, contact info, rules, price list, projects, and more about our collections.