Programme and Research Council

The Programme and Research Council of the Nordic Africa Institute has the task of monitoring and advising its Director. Each Nordic country has two members on this Council – one from the research community and one from the foreign office and/or aid administration. Uppsala university library also has one member due to its close collaboration with the Institute.

From the left, back row: Lars Burman, Terje Østigård, Johanna Teague, Gísli Pálsson, Ian Bryceson and Elina Oinas.
From the left, front row:  Marianne Rönkä, Jonina Einarsdottir, Ilda Lindell, Iina Soiri, Sari Lehtiranta and Julia Falkerby.
Photo: Johan Sävström

Members of the Programme and Research Council

Johanna Teague, Africa Department, Ministry for Foreign Affairs, Sweden

Representatives from Finland
Sari Lehtiranta, Head of unit, Department for Development Policy, Ministry for Foreign Affairs
Substitute: Marianne Rönkä, Department for Development Policy, Ministry for Foreign Affairs
Elina Oinas, Professor, Swedish School of Social Sciences, University of Helsinki

Representatives from Iceland
Ágústa Gísladóttir, Director of Bilateral Cooperation, Ministry for Foreign Affairs
Substitute: Gísli Palsson, Director, Directorate for International Development Cooperation, Ministry for Foreign Affairs
Jonina Einarsdottir, Associate Professor in Anthropology, University of Iceland

Representatives from Norway
Ian Bryceson, Professor, Norwegian University of Life Sciences

Representatives from Sweden
Ilda Lindell, Assoc. Professor, Dept Human Geography, Stockholm University
Substitute: Vacant
Lars Burman, Head of Library, Uppsala University

Staff representatives
Johan Sävström, Communications officer

Secretary of the Council
Julia Falkerby

list of board members
To the top